Exposed: How To Easily Regain Your Driving Privledges After DUI & Drunk Driving Conviction!
How to Get Back License to Drive
Losing your license after a DUI conviction can be frustrating and embarrassing. Getting your license back after a DUI arrest and conviction can be intimidating and complicated. But there is hope. Many Michigan residents who have lost their license due to a DUI may be able to regain full or partial driving privileges if they perform certain tasks. Here are some of the legal options that you may be able to take advantage of.
The Sobriety Court is a pilot program that began in January of 2011. It is scheduled to end in January of 2014. Under this program, certain individuals who have been convicted of specific types of drunk driving offenses may be able to get a restricted Michigan driver’s license. In order for this to happen, the individual must be admitted into a sobriety court. In addition, the individual must have an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicles that they own or drive.
It is important to understand that not everyone will be eligible for this program. Certain criteria must be met before acceptance is approved. For those interested in this program, a consultation with an experienced DUI attorney may be the best first step.
If Sobriety Court is not an option, consider the following:
In Michigan there are two types of administrative hearings that apply to DUI cases. One is the Implied Consent Hearing. This occurs if the driver refused a chemical test. The other type of hearing is the Driver License Restoration Hearing.
Under the Driver License Restoration Hearing, Michigan drivers who had their license taken away because of multiple DUI offenses are required to ask for a hearing with the Michigan Secretary of State’s Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (also known as DADD). It is important to understand that in this type of hearing it is up to you to prove that you should have your license restored. You will (or your attorney) will need to meet high level of proof in order to be successful.
To be successful, you must be able to show that your abuse issues are under control and that the likelihood of future DUI offenses is low. These assertions must be backed up with evidence and facts such as substance abuse evaluations and therapist recommendations, to name a couple of examples.
As for the implied consent hearing, these take place when you have refused a chemical test which is in violation of Michigan law. If charged with this offense, you must make a written request for a hearing within 14 days of your arrest. If you do not make this request, you will receive a one or two year suspension of your driving privileges. If your paper license shows DI-93, then you must make the request if you want to keep your license.
Because the rules and procedures for both types of hearings are somewhat complicated, it is usually in the best interest of the person charged to work with an experienced DUI attorney. Even small mistakes in the procedures can lead to big problems such as not meeting the 14 day deadline for implied consent hearings.[/sixecol_three_last]
Call me right now at 248-213-6410 and I’ll help you.